Spring 2023 URCA Recipients

East Carolina University’s Office of Undergraduate Research announced that 52 student primary investigators received Spring 2023 Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity (URCA) awards.

The award provides support for faculty-mentored research and creative projects led by undergraduates in four disciplines:

  • Biomedical Science – Any science that applies principles of the natural sciences (life or physical) to medicine or health
  • STEM – science*, technology, engineering, and mathematics
    *Any science that does not apply principles of the natural sciences (life or physical) to medicine or health
  • Social Science
  • Arts and Humanities

Students apply for the award with a defined project narrative and budget justification summary that they’ve developed in collaboration with a mentor.

Awards range from $1,500-$2,000 for each project. The awards may go toward project materials and cost, a stipend for the student, or used for participant incentives.

Award recipients are required to present their findings at venues such as Undergraduate Day during ECU’s Research and Creative Achievement Week (RCAW), the State of North Carolina Undergraduate Research and Creativity Symposium (SNCURS) held in December, or other scholarly venues deemed appropriate by their mentors.

The Spring 2023 URCA award recipients are:

Primary Student InvestigatorCo-InvestigatorDepartment/Center/SchoolFaculty MentorCo-Mentor
Carrie AdamsBiologyApril Blakeslee
Cammy BaileyBiologyErin Field
Jada BarnesChemistrySambuddha Banerjee
Emily BronsonEducational LeadershipTravis Lewis
Charles BrooksBiologyApril Blakeslee
Braxton ChambersComputer ScienceRicky CastlesKamran Sartipi
Natalia Figueroa-BernalAdamari Calixto-BenitezHuman Development and Family ScienceArchana Hegde
Margaret "Maggie" FordSchool of MusicAdrienne Steiner-BrettBhibha Das
Jennifer FulcherGeologyEric Horsman
Marysa GavankarCommunication Sciences and DisordersAndrew VermiglioVirgina Driscoll
Matthew GrahamCenter For Sustainable Energy and Environmental EngineeringTerek Salam
Charlotte GrimesBiologyJames Morley
Jenna GrissamBrittany Jones PearsonKinesiologyNicholas Murray
Logan HarrisonBethany SieffermanBiologyCameron Schmidt
Anjalee HouPhysiologyJohanna Hannan
Nitika JaneSociologyKirk Miller
Julia KohakeNina Carrillo CorujoForeign Languages and LiteraturesLaura Levi-AlstaedterLily Johnson
Aaditi KulkarniHuman Development and Family ScienceArchana HegdeVirginia Stage
Kylie LatinoCollege of NursingKim Larson
Quaid LawlerNutrition ScienceLauren SastreVanessa Pardi
Sophie LedbetterBiologyLauren Anllo
Sheleise MelendezSchool of MusicVirginia Driscoll
Marissa MillerSchool of Theatre and DanceJohn Dixon
Daniel MorganPhysical TherapyRyan Wedge
Will MurrayHealth Education and PromotionSinan SousanJo Anne Balanay
Kirklan NaumukBiologyLauren Anllo
Thanh NguyenChemistryJason Pajski
Jessica NwizuBiologyLauren Anllo
Daisy PerezGaelle DesertAnatomy and Cell BiologyKaren Litwa
Christopher PietrykMitchell StaleyEngineeringSuranga Gunerathne
Ankita PrakashBiologyBaohong Zhang
Elisabeth ReedHealth Education and PromotionLeslie Cofie
Amanda RiggsBiologyApril Houghton Blakeslee
Denisse Rosales-MercadoInstructional TechnologyRich Lamb
Samaher SalahaldinSchool of Art and DesignEirck Green
Jeremy SteppSchool of Art and DesignEric GreenKen Wyatt
Stephanie StewartBiologyCameron Schmidt
Akaysia SuttonSchool of Theatre and DanceJim Bray
Ysabella VillacorteAnatomy and Cell BiologyQun LuShayan Nik Akhtar
Nandini VishwakarmaPhysiologyLaxmansa C. Katwa
Jalen WalkerKinesiologyBhibha Das
John White-SingletonKinesiologyChristine HabeebPatrick Rider
Hunter WilsonManagementKathryn Carroll
Mark WindhamSchool of Art and DesignErick Green
Riley YatesSchool of Theatre and DanceBryan Conger