Faculty Reassignment Award Winners

Sponsored and administered by Research, Economic Development and Engagement, in partnership with the Academic Affairs and Health Sciences, faculty reassignment awards provide funds to departments to reassign faculty effort during the academic year, providing dedicated time to apply for extramural funding in support of research and creative activities. Faculty members in either 9 month or 12 month appointments are eligible to apply in order to “buy out” teaching and service assignments, increasing the time available to prepare and submit an application for extramural funding. The applicant must present a well-defined project and supporting evidence that will form the basis of a proposal for extramural funding. A specific funding opportunity, sponsor, and deadline for proposal submission must be identified.

2023-24 Faculty Reassignment Awards

  • Sara Bryson, Criminal Justice and Criminology
  • Nicholas Murray, Kinesiology
  • Mostafa Namian, Construction Management
  • Xiaoping Pan, Biology
  • Mark Taggart, School of Music
  • Amber Thomas, English
  • Michael Veber, Philosophy & Religious Studies
  • Xian Wu, Pharmacology & Toxicology


2022-23 Faculty Reassignment Awards

  • Sambuddha Banerjee, Chemistry
  • Rashmita Basu, Public Health
  • Nancy Dias, College of Nursing
  • Helena Feder, English
  • Marame Gueye, English
  • Nathan Hudson, Physics
  • Cheryl Kovar, College of Nursing
  • Morgan Milton, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Ali Vahdati, Engineering


2020-21 Faculty Reassignment Awards

  • Nicholas Murray, Kinesiology, Health and Human Performance
  • Anne Spuches, Chemistry, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences
  • Beth Thompson, Biology, Thomas Harriot College of Arts and Sciences


2019-20 Faculty Reassignment Awards

  • Christopher Oakley, History, “Maritime Indians: The Carolina Algonquians of the Outer Banks”
  • Amber Flora Thomas, English, “NOT IN THE SOUTH: POEMS”


2018-19 Faculty Reassignment Awards

  • Laura Levi Altstadter, Foreign Languages and Literatures, “Building Capacity in Teach Candidates Through Micro-Credentialing”
  • Nicole Caswell, English, “Inclusive Intersectional Notions of Writing Assignments”
  • Edmund Wall, Philosophy, “A Natural Morality”
  • Liza Wieland, English, “DAMAGE: A Novel”

Facebook logo